HELLO  CHARM  CITY  –  BALTIMORE ,  MARYLAND .  CHINATOWN  BUS OR GREYHOUND  BUS TO AND FROM  BALTIMORE ? 

It was  Labor  Day  here in the  States  and that meant  that  it was time  for  my annual  30 Plus  Teams  Tour  of  one  of  my  favorite  cities ,  Baltimore ,  Maryland . 

Normally ,  I take  Greyhound  at Port Authority  Bus Terminal  to and from  the city on the Chesapeake  Bay . 

Not  this  time . 

As Megabus  unfortunately  doesn’t  go into  Downtown  Baltimore ,  this  was not  an option . 

Megabus  goes into  an area known  as  White Marsh.

I would have taken that bus, but instead  I  went on the  internet and checked  for an inexpensive  bus ride.

No, let me keep  it real.

I  was looking  for  a  really  cheap last  minute  ride to  Baltimore . 

I noticed one of  the  “Chinese” buses , which are very popular  here on the East  Coast . 

They cater mostly  to Asian passengers and they pick you up in the Chinatown  neighborhoods  of most cities . 

Some of  them had  a  bad reputation ,  so I  never thought  of  taking  one of  them.

I had heard  all sorts of  horror  stories  about  them . 

It was my first  time  taking one and I really  wasn’t  that impressed ,  especially  since I had to  show my online ticket and identification  at the office  on 31st Street and Fifth Avenue ,  but then walk to  32nd Street  and Broadway   to get the bus.

It’s  not that  long a walk, really ,  but my backpack  was heavy.

Once I got on the  bus, my opinion  changed.

It’s  not that  the buses are cleaner than Greyhound ,  they really  aren’t . 

However ,  I felt safer riding one of  these buses as compared  to  the  sometimes  roller  coaster  ride that is riding  on the  Greyhound  buses.

The seats were just as comfortable  as the seats on Greyhound . 

They even showed movies.

Ok, they were in Chinese with English  subtitles ,  but Greyhound  doesn’t  show  movies  of any kind on their buses.

Seeing  that this is  a  30  Plus  Teams  Tour  that I’m  on, they had a movie about traveling  to  Korea and Japan and the baseball  scene there, which is  quite huge.

The ride to Baltimore  wasn’t  an express  bus though, as we stopped  in Wilmington ,  Delaware . 

When we arrived  in  Baltimore ,  it wasn’t  at a terminal  in Downtown  Baltimore ,  it was the  O’Donnell  Street  Transit  Park  in the Canton  neighborhood  of  the  city . 

From there ,  it was easy to  get  a  city bus into  Downtown  Baltimore  where my hotel  was.

You can’t   beat across  the  street  from  the  transit center  and for the fare of $1.80.

Six days  later, I decided  to  take  Greyhound ,  even though it was more expensive  than  the   $20  that  I  paid  for  the  Chinese bus.

The terminal  on Haines  Street ,  in the shadow of  Downtown  Baltimore , has been  remodeled  since I  was  last in town ,  which was a year ago . 

Compared to  the  way  it used to  look, it looks very modern and spacious  now.

I would  love to  show  you  pictures of  the  new and improved  Baltimore  Greyhound  Terminal ,  but they don’t  allow  pictures  for some  reason ,  which I found odd.

The Greyhound  bus from Baltimore  to the  Big  Apple  was an express  bus.

It didn’t  even  stop for a rest stop.

Greyhound  buses even got  a  new  makeover.

But having  said  that ,  it’s  not just about the look ,  but more about the price and service  that will make me decide  what bus I’ll  take.

Lots of  times, I don’t  get that from riding  Greyhound . 

If any of these  buses go to  the  city where my next 30  Plus  Teams  Tour  is, and once again ,  Megabus  isn’t  an option ,  guess who else won’t  be  an option ? 

That’s  right, Greyhound . 

Leave a Reply

