THINGS I WOULD DO DIFFERENTLY IF I COULD SPEAK TO MY YOUNGER SELF .

FB_IMG_1501064026943As I  get  ready  to  make  another  30  Plus  Teams  Tour ,  I   have to  reflect  on  some  things .

What  would  I  say  to  a younger  me if I  could  go back  in time ?

Now , when  I  say my younger  self, I’m  referring  to  that  18  year  old  girl  just getting  out of  Catholic  School   all the way up to  that  35  year  old  woman ,  who  seemed  to  be  depressed  about  how  her  life  was  going .

I  was  also  extremely  sensitive  to  criticism  of  any  kind  from anyone .

I’d  like  to  say  that  at  age  36  that I  had my life  together ,  but that  would  be  a  big fat  lie .

I   honestly  didn’t .

It  wasn’t  until  I  reached  the age of  43  that I  really  got my act  together .

I  can remember  crying  on my 30th  birthday ,  because  silly  old  me, I thought  my  life  was  over .

I  don’t  cry on my birthdays  anymore ,  even if  I don’t  celebrate  the  day with friends or if someone  forgets  to wish  me happy  birthday .

Because  at 64 ,  everyday  that  the  Good  Lord  gets  me  up, it’s  a reason  to  celebrate .

I  would  tell  the  18  year  old  me  that  in spite  of  all the  information  you  learned  in college ,  I   wouldn’t  waste  my parents  money  or my time  by attending  college .

I   would  have  gone  to  work  right  after  high  school  and  made  my own  money  instead .

Speaking  of dollar  dollar bills ,  y’all ,  I   would  have  learned  to  handle  it a whole  lot  better .

I  can  honestly  say  that  I’ve  gotten  somewhat  better  at this ,  too.

I  would  definitely  tell  my younger  self  not to be  so sensitive  to  criticism  from  friends  and  especially  some  family  members .

I   can say that  I’ve  gotten  my PhD  in  this  department .

My educated  advice  on this to my younger  self  would  be ,  if someone  has a problem  with  you, no matter  if it’s  family  or friends, go that Taylor  Swift  route.

Shake it off .

That’s  their  issues ,  not yours .

I’m  very  happy  with  my  older  self .

Special  thanks  and shout outs  to some  family  members  too numerous  to mention  and to my ”  Circle  of  Sisters  ”   who  have  been  there  for me then and now ,  Michele ,  Sue ,  Lisa ,  Carol ,  Shoshanna ,  Myra ,  Theresa  and Soccoro .

Thank you  and God  bless  you ,  ladies .

I  would  tell  my  younger  self  to appreciate  my parents  a lot  more than  I did.

Now that both  of  them  are gone ,  it’s  a little  hard  to  tell them  how I feel .

I  would  tell  my younger  self  to get out  there  and  travel  much  more  than I did  and to be aware that the United  States  wasn’t  the only  country  in the  world .

There’s  a  whole  lot  of  countries  out there that  I  could  only  dream  about  going  to  let alone  trying  to  visit  one day.

I  would  have  gotten  a  passport  a heck  of  a  lot  sooner .

Finally ,  my younger  self  would  have  not  only  thought  about  having  the  idea  of  a  30  Plus  Teams  Tour ,  but actually  going on one .

 

4 thoughts on “THINGS I WOULD DO DIFFERENTLY IF I COULD SPEAK TO MY YOUNGER SELF .

  1. Susi Steis says:

    LOVE this! Every woman should read this! And darn it ! (Yes, I KNOW you shouldn’t start a sentence with And… Catholic School English teacher said so!) You made me cry, Jo Jo. Your younger self and older self are still wonderful and sweet. Don’t change…

    Like

  2. I really enjoied reading this because I can relate to a lot of the things you said. It’s always good to take advise from who have more exprerince than me… As you, if I could go back in time, I wouldn’t have attended uni. Expecially here in Italy ‘cos education here consist of a lot o theory and no practice. Unfortunately I can’t change this and I must find the motivation to finish.
    Only in the last period I’m starting to learn to care less of what other people think of me.
    I also agree on appreciating our parents more, because they did (and in my case they keep on doing) a lot of sacrifice for us.
    (I hope my English isn’t so bad).

    Like

Leave a Reply

