IT’S NOT JUST ABOUT THE MUSIC – NASHVILLE , TENNESSEE . AN APPRECIATION OF NASHVILLE

Two  years  ago ,  when  I  mentioned  to  coworkers ,  family  and  friends  that  my  own  30  Plus  Teams  Tour was  going  to  take  me  down  South ,  they  all  assumed  that  I  was  either  going  to  be  visiting  my  aunt  and  cousins  down  in  either  Charlotte  or  Raleigh ,  North  Carolina .

Other  people  assumed  that  I  was  either  going  to Atlanta  for  either  a  Braves  baseball  game ,  a  Hawk’s  basketball  game  or  a  Falcons  football  game .

But  they  were  all  wrong .

I  wasn’t  doing  any  of  those  things .

I  was  going  to  Tennessee .

Nashville ,  aka  Music  City ,  to  be  watch  a  Nashville  Predators  hockey  game .

Some  people  were  very  surprised ,  even  though  they  know  my  crazy  love  of  hockey .

”  Hockey  in  Nashville ?  They  have  hockey  down  there ?  Don’t  you  mean  you’re  going  to  a  Tennessee  Titans  football  game ?  ” ,  they  all  asked .

Other  people  assumed  that  I  really  had  the  wrong  city .

I  was  going  to  Memphis  because  there’s  nothing  in  Nashville .

I  was  even  told  that  since  I  wasn’t  that  big  of  a  Country  and  Western  music  fan  I  would  have  a  really  AWFUL  time  because  that’s  all  there  is  in  that  place .

Other  people ,  who  had  actually  been  there  before  and  knew  a  lot  better  than  my  well  meaning  colleagues  and  relatives , told  me  not  once  but  over  and  over  again ,  ”  You’re  going  to  Nashville ?  You  will  LOVE  NASHVILLE !  You’ll  have  a  really  fun  time  there . ”

Those  people  were  right .

I  was  going  to  have  a  fun  time  there .

I don’t  think that  I  need to   tell you  that  Nashville  is on my  list of  my favorite  30 Plus  Teams  Tour  cities .

From  the  moment  my  friend  and  I  got  off  our  Southwest  flight  from  Newark  Liberty  and  onto  the  Nashville  public  bus  to  take  us  to  our  hostel  downtown  where  we  were  staying  in  to  the  the  very  last  moment  when  we  left  the  city ,  I  had  to  agree .

I  HAD  fallen  in  love  with  the  city  known  as  ”  The  Athens  of  The  South .  ”

There  was  something  very  special  about  this  place .

What  that  one  thing  is ,  I  can’t  tell  you .

Could  it  be  the  city  itself  where  every  single  building  in  town  seems  to  have  something  to  do  with  music ?

Or  is  it  the  fact  that  you  don’t  have  to  be a Country  and  Western  music  fan  to  like  this  city ?

It  is  Music  City ,  after  all .

There’s  something  for  everyone  here .

There’s  a  party  atmosphere  all  night  long ,  and  folks  can  party  without  acting  the  fool .

Could  it  be  how  friendly  the  citizens  of  this  city  really  are ,  even  to  a  couple  of  ”  Yankee  Gals  ”  who  had  50  million  questions  to  ask  about  the  city ?

It  seemed  like  nobody  seemed  to  have  a  problem  with  it  either .

When  people  actually  asked ,  ”  How  y’all  doing  today ?  ” ,  they  truly  wanted  to  know .

Where  else  would  you  see  a  young  junior  high  school  student  get  out  of  his  seat  and  ask ,  ”  m’am ,  would  you  like  to  sit  down ?  ”

No ,  I  can’t  name  just  one  thing  that  made  me  fall  in  love  with  this  city .

I  didn’t  think  I  would ,  but  I  did  and  I  guess  that  you  could  say  that  this  post  is  a  ”  love  letter  ”  to  the  city  of  Nashville .

Now ,  since  this  is  a  30  Plus  Teams  Tour  of  Nashville ,  the  team  that  I  went  to  watch ,  the  Nashville  Predators  are  playing  for  the  hockey  championship ,  the  Stanley  Cup .

I’m  wishing  them  the  best  of  luck  and  sincerely  hope  that  they  win  the  championship .

It  would  give the  city   another  reason  to  throw  a  party  and  I  know  that  everyone  would  have  a  grand  old  time .

It  would  give  me  another  reason  to  love  this  city  as  well .

People  who  really  don’t  know  or  think  they  know  Nashville ,  sorry ,  but  you  all  haven’t  got  a  clue .

All  those  stereotypes  that  I  heard  about  the  city  don’t  even  come  close  to  the  Nashville  that  I  saw  and  loved .

It’s  a  place  with  really  genuinely  friendly  people ,  beautiful  green  spaces ,  mouth  watering  food ,  (  I  had  the  best  sausage  and  egg  sandwich  on  a  real  homemade  biscuit  at  Dunn  Brothers  that  would  put  any  fast  food  restaurant  sandwich  to  shame .  )  and ,  oh  yeah ,  there’s  that  music .

Thank  you ,  Music  City  for  allowing  this  ”  Yankee  Gal  ”  and  her  friend  to  come  to  your  city  as  a  guest  and  leave  it  as  a  friend .

Leave a Reply

