MY OWN 30 PLUS TEAMS TOUR FAVORITE PLACES

I  usually  don’t  do  a Top 10  List, but  I’m  going  to  change  it up a little  bit  for  this  post .

Some  friends  wanted to   know  if I  have  a  favorite  list  of  my favorite  places ?

I  do, but  keep  in  mind  since  this  blog  is  called  30  Plus  Teams ,  30  Plus  Dreams ,  don’t  expect  to  see  Tokyo ,  Paris ,  or Cape  Town  on this  list .

The  theme  of  this  blog  is  what  to do   in  a  city  after  you’ve  gone  to  that professional   hockey ,  football ,  baseball ,  or  basketball  game .

The last  time  I  checked ,  Tel Aviv   doesn’t  have  any of those ,  neither  does  Dubai ,  Nassau ,  or Mumbai .

So  ,don’t  be surprised  to  see  American    and  Canadian  cities .

Even  though  I  live  in  New  York  City ,  and  everyone  and  their  mama  seems  to  either  want  to  visit  here  or move  here ,  sorry  “Big  Apple  “,  you  are  NOT  even  on my   list  of  my  favorite  30 Plus   Teams  Tour  cities .

These  are  the  10 cities  that  made  the  cut  and  not  just  to see  a sporting  event  but  today  visit  again  and  again .

They’re  in reverse  order, 10 all the  way  down to my  number  one favorite  30 Plus  Teams  Tour  city .

 

TAMPA ,  FLORIDA

Love  the  Spanish  vibe  of  the  city ,  the  beautiful  waterfront  and the  fact  that  in  the  middle  of  April ,  I  can go swimming  and  go to  a  Tampa  Bay  Lightning  hockey  game  wearing  nothing  but  my  hockey  jersey  and  a skirt .

PHILADELPHIA ,  PENNSYLVANIA

Very  underrated  city  in the  shadow  of  New  York  City .  Cheesesteaks   Rocky ,  The  Liberty  Bell ,  and  one  of  the  best  mascots  in  sports ,  the  Phillie  Phanatic  doing  his  thing  at Citizens  Bank  Park .

PITTSBURGH ,  PENNSYLVANIA

Black  and  yellow  everywhere  from the  color  of  the uniforms  of their  sports  teams  and even  the  bridges .  Primanti  Brothers  for  one  of  their  RIGHTEOUS  SANDWICHES ! !  The  skyline  of  the  city  rivals  the  skyline  of  New York  City ,  and  Chicago  for  some  of  the  most  breathtaking  views ,  especially  at  night .  This  is another  very  underrated  city .

DETROIT ,  MICHIGAN

Don’t  laugh ,  yes ,  I  LOVED   the  ”  Motor  City  ” .  This  city  gets  really  bad  press  and to be  honest ,  I   don’t  know  what  I  was  expecting .  Yes I  was  expecting  the  worst .  I  was  wrong ,  very  wrong .  The  “D”   is  making  a  comeback .  I want  to  see  this  city  again  and  again .  . Thank  you ,  Motown .

TORONTO ,  CANADA

No  matter  if  you  refer  to  it  as  ”  The  Six  ” ,  ”  The  416  ”  or  just  ”  T.  O.  ” ,  Toronto  ROCKS ! !  !  It  might  be  known  as  the  land  of  hockey ,  but don’t  tell  that  to  Toronto  Raptors  basketball  fans  or  Toronto  Blue  Jays  baseball  fans ,  they represent  their  teams  too.  Don’t  forget  to  visit  that  big  tower  that  seems  to  dominate  the  skyline  of  the  city   the  CN  Tower .

NASHVILLE ,  TENNESSEE

When  you  say  Nashville ,  people  automatically  say  Country  and  Western ,  Cowboy  Boots  and  Line  Dancing .  Music  City  is  more  than  that .  This  city  has  some  of  the  friendliest  people  I  have  ever  met  and they  are  more  than  happy  to  tell  you  about  their  city  and ask how  are  you  doing ,  and really  mean  it .  I can’t  wait  to  come  back  to  ”  The  Athens  of  The  South  ” . FB_IMG_1493642157392

LOS ANGELES ,  CALIFORNIA

For  10  years  I  called  this  city  my  home  and  I  didn’t  have  a  car .  I  definitely  don’t  know  how  to  drive ,  but  I  got  from  Point  A  to  Point  B  by  public  transportation .  Lots  of  people  hate  the  freeways ,  the  traffic ,  the  smog ,  how  expensive  it  is  and  above  all ,  the  phony  people .  I say  WHATEVER .  I  miss  those  beaches  that  I  went  to  on  my  days  off  from  work .  And  yes ,  I  did  take  the  bus  to  get  to  all  four  of  them  that  were  close  by  my  house .

WASHINGTON  ,  DC

What  more  can  you  say  about  our  Nation’s  Capital  that  hasn’t  been  said  before ?  It  doesn’t  matter  if  you’re  a Democrat ,  Republican ,  Independent ,  or  you  didn’t  vote  at  all ,  this  city  has  something  for  everyone .  All these  monuments  and  museums ,  not  to  mention  the  memorials  that  you  only  read  about  in  school  are  right  here  in front  of  you .  Most  of  them  are  free .

BALTIMORE ,  MARYLAND

This  city  is  right  down  the  road  from  Washington  DC  and  many  people  for  some  reason  avoid  this  city  like  the  plague .

By not   going  to  Baltimore ,  you’re  missing  out  on  seeing  the  Inner  Harbor ,  Fort  McHenry ,  Lexington  Market  for  restaurants  and  shops ,  exploring  the  city  on one  of  the Charm   City  Circular  buses ,  that  are  free ,  by the   way ,  Little  Italy ,  and  my favorite  baseball  park ,  Orioles  Park  at  Camden  Yards .

 

My number  one  30  Plus  Teams  Tour  city  is a city  that  has  a very  special  place  in  my heart ,  and  for  those  of  you  who  know  me  ,  you all ready  know  what  the  city  is.

To those  of  you  who  don’t  know  me,  it’s  the place  that  I lived  in  and  worked  in  for  13  years ,  and  it will  ALWAYS  be  the  place  that  I  call home .

It’s  the  city  that  I escape  to when  I  want  to  get  away  from  the  madness  that  is  New  York  City .

It’s  “The  Bean  “,  Boston ,  Massachusetts  and  just  where do  I  start  with  the  oh so   many  reasons  that  I  love  my city  so much  .

I’ll  just  name  a  few .

The view  of  the  city  from  the  Cambridge  side  of  the  Charles  River .

Walking  across  Harvard  Yard  and  taking  a  picture  with  the  statue  that’s  supposed  to  represent  John  Harvard ,  the  founder  of  the  school .

The  accent .

Not  for  nothing ,  but  when  I  get  either  wicked  excited  or wicked  upset ,  my Boston  accent  comes out .

The  Celtics ,  Red Sox ,  Bruins ,  and  Patriots  and  just  how  very  passionate  their  fans  are.

I  should  know  I’m  a fan  of  three  of  these  teams ,  and  this  is  a 30  Plus  Teams  Tour  of  my  favorite  places ,  after  all .

Walking  through  the  Public  Gardens  and seeing  the  statue  of  George  Washington  on his  horse .

Don’t  do this  at night ,  though .

The Golden  Dome  on top  of  the  Massachusetts  State  House .

Riding  on one  of  the  Swan  Boats  in the   summer .

The  cobblestone  streets  and  the  old  fashioned  street  lamps .

Lobster  Roll Sandwiches  and  New England  Clam  Chowder .

Sorry ,  you  can  call  me  a  Clam Chowder   Snob,  but  Manhattan  Clam  Chowder  just  ISN’T  Clam  Chowder  to me .

Walking  along  the  Rose  Fitzgerald  Kennedy  Greenway  and  looking  out  at the   Boston  Waterfront .

The  Boston  Pops July  4th  concert on  the  Hatch Shell  and  seeing  the  fireworks  going  off all over  the  city .

All that  history  that’s  a  part  of  the  United  States  History .

I could  go on   and  on about  my  city ,  but  I  think  you  get  the  idea .

 

Leave a Reply

