MEMORIES OF APRIL 15 , 2013

We  can  all  remember  where  we  were  when  certain  events  happened

September  11th  and  the  assassination  of  JFK ,  among  others .

I  can  say  that  I  remember  where  I  was  on  April  15th ,  2013 .

I  had  just  arrived  in  Boston  at  around  6  am  or  so ,  had  breakfast  and  texted  friends  back  in  New  York  City  and  Pittsburgh  to  tell  them  that  what  was  going  on .

I  described  to  them  how  festive  the  city  was  and  that  even  some  of  the  bars  were  open  early .

It  was  a  holiday  in  Boston ,  Patriots  Day ,  which  is  not  only  a  holiday  in  Massachusetts ,  but  Rhode  Island  as  well .

It’s  also  the  day  of  the  Boston  Marathon ,  one  of  the  biggest  races  in  the  country .

The  runners  start  in  the  town  of  Hopkinton ,  Massachusetts  and  end  up  26  miles  later  at  Copley  Square  in  Boston ,.

Many  years  ago ,  I  was  a  race  volunteer  because  the  company  that  I  worked  for ,  John  Hancock  Insurance  Company ,  sponsored  the  race .

They  still  do ,  by  the  way .

I  hadn’t  been  to  the  marathon  since  I  left  Boston  and  I  couldn’t  wait  to  see  this  one .

I  would  always  remember  it ,  but  not  for  the  reason  I  wanted  to .

At  around  1:  50pm  or  so ,  I  left  the  spot  where  I  was  watching  the  race  on  Boylston  Street ,  in  front  of  Lord  and  Taylor  Department  Store  and  headed  to  Prudential  Center ,  a  shopping  complex  in  the  Prudential  Building .

The  race  wasn’t  over ,  but  I  had  already  seen  the  top  male ,  female  and  wheelchair  runners  cross  the  finish  line ,  so  it  was  time  to  make  my  way  through  the  crowd  to  buy  a  coworker  a  souvenir  from  Boston .

By  the  time  I  did  that  and  picked  up  a  pastry  from  Crumbs  Bakery ,  it  was  near  3 pm .

It  didn’t  cross  my  mind  that  a  lot  of  sirens  were  going  off  as  I  was  three  blocks  away .

But  looking  back  on  it ,  it  made  sense .

They  were  ambulance  sirens .

Two  bombs  had  gone  off  at  the  marathon .

Bombs ?  !

Two  bombs  at  the  Boston  Marathon ? ?  !

NOOOO !  NOOOO !  NOOOO !

Some  bastard  actually  did  THIS  to  MY  CITY ?  !

I  remember  all  the  text  messages  and  voice  mails  I  received  but  couldn’t  answer  because  because  cell  phone  towers  were  down  and  NO  ONE  in  the  city  was  able  to  get  calls .

”  Jo ,  are  you  all  right ?  ”

”  Jo  Ann ,  it’s  the  job .  Call  us  and  let  us  know  you’re  all  right .  ”

”  Jo ,  Michele  and  I  are  worried  about  you .  Are  you  ok ?  Jo ,  please  answer . ”

Facebook  was  really  my  friend  that  day  because  that  was  the  only  way  I  could  communicate  with  people .

I  was  first  in  shock ,  then  anger .

I  asked  friends  to  pray  for  us  up  in  Boston .

I  didn’t  have  any  physical  scars  or  wounds ,  but  mentally  I  have  scars  and  still  do  years  later .

They  even  made  a  movie  about  the  bombing  called  Patriot  Games ,  which  recently  came  out .

I  won’t  see  it .

I  refuse  to  .

I  don’t  need  to .

I  was  there  that  day .

I  saw  the  crime  scene  tape  around  Copley  Square  and  the  place  where  I stood  just  an  hour  before .

That’s  where  one  of  the  bombs went  off .

As  I  said  my  shock  turned  into  anger .

Anger  at  the  two  low  lifes  who  did  this  to  my  city .

I  want  to  know  what  the  hell  the  city  of  Boston  ever  did  to  you  to  make  you  want  to  bomb  a  big  part  of  it .

You  injured  so  many  and  killed  five  Bostonians  who  you  never  knew  and  did  nothing  to  you .

One  of  them  a  little  boy  who  lived  in  my  old  neighborhood  of  Dorchester .

It’s  going  to  be  four  years  this  Patriots  Day  and  the  race  will  go  on ,  but  I  will  ALWAYS  remember  April  15 ,  2013 .

I’m  not  the  only  one .

Leave a Reply

